Alan Stivell
Human Kelt

 

Son ar chistr   ( My Cheers To You ! )

 

   Son ar chistr   ( My Cheers To You ! )
( Feat. Angelo Branduardi  &  Dónal Lunny )

 
Alan Stivell Lyrics »

 

 

Returning to this era (late 60s), does not mean leaving the present.

Several times in this album, I myself am a sampled virtual guest, coming from the 1970 of old times.

And this festive song becomes an opportunity for collective joy where certain questions can be cast aside for five minutes.

The single, then the album, were an immense international success, which so many artists have covered. And we must admit that with their cover versions they have made it more famous. From the Dutch Bots (neighbours of Phillips-Universal and visiters of my albums) to Angelo Branduardi and his Gulliver, here with me, through Deep Purple Richie Blackmore and his group Blackmore Night, my aim to make Brittany known throughout the world exceeds my expectations. After my recording in 1970, a crowd of international artists could not resist its attraction. It’s a joy. But we must never forget which country it comes from. And we have a duty to remind people of this forever and again.

My arrangement, and also my work on communication, may be responsible for making it renowned, but this should take nothing from the credit due to its creators, the brothers Prima (fom my region in Brittany) one century ago. Surprisingly enough I only learned of this origin myself recently.

Yec’hed mat (Good Health), which I partly wrote and pronounced this time in the Breton from my region (a croissant on the banks of the river Ellé which links continental Cornwall to the Vannes-Gwened province), and also in English, with the addition of Italian, thanks to Angelo.

I mention Portofino, a Genoese harbour, because it was my first scenic escapade outside French borders (July 1966). And what a coincidence to see the cabaret again (for the first time in 52 years, my beginning), thanks to the Italian part of the mix and to Alan Simon (who worked with Marco Canepa on three other tracks) : seeing my beginnings, with my own eyes was a moment of intense emotion.

To come back to this drinking song, I reduced the alcohol, mixing water with the cider ( !) and I replaced a passage which was a bit “macho” with a tribute to Breton women and men.

 

 

SON AR CHISTR – My Cheers To You !

music : DP (except end) - arr. A. Stivell
lyrics : DP - A. Stivell
intro and bridge sample : Angelo Branduardi (Gulliver)

 

(Intro) Angelo…

Ev’ chistr ‘ta Laou, rak chistr ‘zo mat, loñla
Ev’ chistr ‘ta Laou, rak chistr ‘zo mat
Ur blank, ur blank, ar chopinad, loñla
Ur blank, ur blank, ar chopinad

Yec’hed mat dimp ha kalon vat Breizhiz
Yec’hed mat dimp ha kalon vat
‘Ba’ Kemper, PortofIno ha Pariz
Pemont bloaz ‘zo ‘kanen dija

My cheers to you and cheers to you Bretons
Let’s sing together, let’s go on
Cider or water, high and low
Good health and cheers to us for to-morrow
But let us cheer just here for now

(Bridge) Angelo…

Yec’hed mat dimp ha kalon vat Breizhiz
Yec’hed mat dimp ha kalon vat

Ev’ chistr ‘ta Laou, rak chistr ‘zo mat
Ur blank, ur blank, ar chopinad, loñla
Ur blank, ur blank, ar chopinad

Alan Stivell
Human Kelt

 

Son ar chistr   ( My Cheers To You ! )

 

   Son ar chistr   ( My Cheers To You ! )
( Feat. Angelo Branduardi  &  Dónal Lunny )

 
Alan Stivell paroles »

 

 

Revivre cette époque ( fin des années 60 ), ce n’est pas quitter l’actuelle.

A diverses reprises dans cet album, je suis moi-même un invité virtuel samplé, venant du 1970 de jadis.

Et cette chanson-fête devient l’occasion d’une joie collective où certaines questions peuvent être laissées de côté cinq minutes.

Sa présence en single, puis l’album, a été un immense succès international que tant d’artistes ont voulu reprendre. Et il faut reconnaître que leurs reprises y ont grandement contribué. Des Bots hollandais ( voisins de Phillips-Universal et visiteurs de mes albums ) à Angelo Branduardi et son Gulliver ici présent, en passant par le Deep Purple Richie Blackmore et son groupe Blackmore Night, mon but de faire connaître la Bretagne au monde entier est ici plus qu’atteint. Après mon enregistrement de 1970, une foule d’autres artistes internationaux n’a pu résister à son attrait. C’est une joie. Mais on ne dira jamais assez quel pays en est la source. Et c’est un devoir de le rappeler toujours et encore.

Si mon arrangement, mais aussi mon travail de communication, ont bien été responsables de sa renommée, on ne doit rien enlever à ses créateurs, les frères Prima de Guiscriff dans les années 20. Etonnant sûrement le fait que j’en ai appris cette origine que récemment.

Yec’hed mat, que j’ai écrit et prononcé cette fois en breton de ma région ( un croissant qui borde l’Ellé et qui fait le lien entre Cornouaille et Vannetais ), en anglais, auxquelles langues s’ajoutent, par la grâce d’Angelo, un peu d’italien.

Je cite Portofino, en pays génois, justement parce que ce fut ma première escapade scénique hors hexagone (juillet 1966). Et quelle coïncidence de revoir le cabaret ( pour la première fois depuis 52 ans, mes débuts ), grâce à la partie italienne du mix et à Alan Simon (qui a travaillé avec Marco Canepa sur trois autres titres) : revoir mes débuts de mes yeux a été une émotion vraiment intense.

Pour revenir à cette chanson à boire, j’en atténue l’alcool, mêlant l’eau au cidre ( ! ) et je remplace un passage un peu « macho » par un salut aux bretonnes et bretons.

 

 

SON AR CHISTR – My Cheers To You !

music : DP (except end) - arr. A. Stivell
lyrics : DP - A. Stivell
intro and bridge sample : Angelo Branduardi (Gulliver)

 

(Intro) Angelo…

Ev’ chistr ‘ta Laou, rak chistr ‘zo mat, loñla
Ev’ chistr ‘ta Laou, rak chistr ‘zo mat
Ur blank, ur blank, ar chopinad, loñla
Ur blank, ur blank, ar chopinad

Yec’hed mat dimp ha kalon vat Breizhiz
Yec’hed mat dimp ha kalon vat
‘Ba’ Kemper, PortofIno ha Pariz
Pemont bloaz ‘zo ‘kanen dija

My cheers to you and cheers to you Bretons
Let’s sing together, let’s go on
Cider or water, high and low
Good health and cheers to us for to-morrow
But let us cheer just here for now

(Bridge) Angelo…

Yec’hed mat dimp ha kalon vat Breizhiz
Yec’hed mat dimp ha kalon vat

Ev’ chistr ‘ta Laou, rak chistr ‘zo mat
Ur blank, ur blank, ar chopinad, loñla
Ur blank, ur blank, ar chopinad